Sawtooth National Forest

Sawtooth National Forest covers 2,110,408 acres (854,052 ha) in the states of Idaho (~96 percent) and Utah (~4 percent). Sawtooth National Forest is named for the Sawtooth Mountains. The forest also contains the Albion, Black Pine, Boise, Boulder, Pioneer, Raft River, Smoky, Soldier, Sublett, and White Cloud mountain
ranges, as well as Hyndman Peak, the ninth-highest point in Idaho at 12,009 feet (3,660 m). Sawtooth National Forest contains land cover types which include sagebrush steppe, spruce-fir forests, alpine tundra, and over 1,100 lakes and 3,500 miles (5,600 km) of rivers and streams. Plants and animals found only in the Sawtooth National Forest and adjacent lands include Christ's Indian paintbrush, Davis' springparsley, the South Hills crossbill, and the Wood River sculpin. The area occupied by people as early as 8000 BC and by the Shoshone tribe after 1700 AD. The first Europeans arrived in the area around the 1820s; they were mainly explorers, trappers, and prospectors, and they founded many of the current towns around what later became the forest. Sawtooth National Forest offers facilities for recreation, with four ski areas, whitewater and flatwater boating, hunting, 81 campgrounds, and over 1,000 mi (1,600 km) of trails and roads for hiking, mountain biking, and all-terrain vehicle use, including two National Recreation Trails.
, Ketchum, 83340, Ηνωμένες Πολιτείες
Login to post comments